New York City Healthy Spots & Restaurants

Today I wanted to share with you a few of the places I’ve been to on my last trip to New York. But not just any place, the healthy kind of ones. I have a lot of places to talk to you about but I haven’t been to all of them in this last trip and I don’t have photos of the places I’ve been there before, so I won’t talk much about the other healthy restaurant suggestions, but I don’t want to miss out any of the amazing organic/vegan/healthy places I’ve been to. In the city that never sleeps you can still keep it healthy with these amazing spots!

ABC Kitchen

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

So this one is one of my favorites. Just two blocks away from Union Square, this restaurant is just perfect for a farm-to-table lunch or dinner where nutrition and deliciousness go hand by hand. We (my husband and I) ordered the lunch prix fixe which offers a three course menu with several options to choose from at US$32.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

For starters we both ordered the butternut squash soup with ginger, lemon and pumpkin seeds. Really creamy and full of flavor. It had a light spicy kick which we loved (especially Adrian!). (Sorry guys for the poor quality pictures, but I forgot my camera at home on this trip!)

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

As main course I had the grilled portobello sandwich with arugula and parmesan, lemon mayo and jalapeños. These one came with some french fries that were seasoned with some parsley and salt, they were delicious! The portobello sandwich was ok, but didn’t blow my mind. Maybe I prefer my portobellos sautéed on a salad :). But it was definitely flavorful.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Adrian had these ricotta and farm egg ravioli with pork ragu, chilies, sage and parmesan. It was absolutely delicious! But beware, if you have a busy afternoon ahead this may not be your best option because it is pretty heavy to digest (at least it was for Adrian! hahahaha! but he says it was totally worth it!).

By the way, don’t you think the serveware is absolutely stunning? So unique and delicate.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

For dessert we shared to bombs: the cookie plate, consisting of cornmeal shortbread with lemon curd, a chocolate chip cookie and a chocolate cake pop; and the salted caramel ice cream sundae with candied peanuts & popcorn, whipped cream and chocolate sauce. We really liked both, but I have to say that the chocolate cake pop was our absolute favorite!

So if you are in New York you have to try this place because the food is amazing, the place is gorgeous and the service is exceptional!

Info:

www.abchome.com/eat/abc-kitchen/

35 east 18th street new york, ny 10003

brunch: sat, sun 11am-3pm

lunch: mon-fri 12pm-3pm

dinner: mon-wed 5.30-10.30pm; thurs 5.30-11pm; fro-sat 5.30-11.30pm; sun 5.30-10pm

The Butcher’s Daughter

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This is a vegetarian hot spot in Soho were hipsters, models and actors like to stop by. It is 100% vegetarian and non-dairy with most of the menu items being vegan and gluten-free. Vibrant colors in a relaxed atmosphere make of this place an ideal lunch spot. I think this restaurant is a must when you are visiting NY and looking for health.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We started ordering some juices: I had the goddess of green (kale, cucumber, green apple, fennel, pinnacle, thyme, blue green algae) and Adrian ordered the Red Juice (US$9) (anjou pear, beet and ginger). Both were smooth and delicious, Adrian’s red juice was super spicy! So I guess that means that it was loaded with lots of immune boosting ginger!

butcher

I had this spicy kale caesar salad, which consisted of local kale, avocado, almond parmesan, toasted almonds, crispy shallots & 7-grain croutons (US$14). I have to say that this is my favorite caesar salad. Unfortunately I can’t get it regularly because I don’t live in NY :(, but I was lucky enough to try it!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Of course, Adrian had a sandwich: Spicy Merguez, made of white-bean spicy sausage, fig mostarda, arugula & harissa mayo on baguette (US$14). He liked the spiciness but he thought it was a little bit dry. But I applaud him for trying a vegan sausage in the first place!

We didn’t have dessert, because they don’t really have a dessert menu. Overall, I love this place for what it stands for and because of the caesar salad! I’ll definitively come back on future trips to try some other salads and the avo-toast!

Info:

thebutchersdaughter.com

19 Kenmare Street, ny 10012

sun-thurs 8am-10pm

fri-sat 8am-11pm

Little Park

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

This place is gorgeous. It is the restaurant at The Smyth Hotel (in Tribeca), which is a luxury hotel in NY. But don’t be fooled, it is a farm-to-table restaurant offering veggie loaded creations. This was Adrian’s favorite healthy restaurant. We had some organic wine and asked for the spent grain bread and cultured butter which is served upon request and then went straight for the main courses.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I had the beetroot risotto with tangy cheese & poppy seed (US$16) which I am totally obsessed over right now! My husband loved it so much that I had to restrain it from him because he was eating it all! Super creamy, cheesy and with such a vibrant color! Adrian had the black kale ravioli with squash & pine nuts (US$15) that was amazing too.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

For dessert we ordered the pear & milk chocolate tart (US$12) and the chocolate-rye cake with hazelnut ice cream (US$12). My favorite was the pear tart overall, but I really loved the hazelnut ice cream. I wasn’t a huge fan of the chocolate rye cake, but Adrian devoured it! So I guess I was being picky :P.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This is the kind of place you want to go for dinner with friends while still getting all your vitamins and organic veggies that you love so much. Btw, the service here was outstanding.

info:

www.littlepark.com

85 West Broadway , New York, NY 10007

Breakfast: Mon–Fri 7am-11am; Sat-Sun 7am-10am
Lunch: Mon–Fri 11.30am-3pm
Dinner: Nightly 5.30pm-11pm
Brunch: Sat-Sun 10am-3pm

Sweetgreen

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

This is a super healthy & organic fast food chain that serves custom made salads. This was our go-to lunch. They have so many options to choose from that you could never get bored here. They have several locations across NY where you can stop by.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The first time we came I ordered one of the suggestions which is the harvest bowl (organic wild rice, shredded kale, apples, sweet potatoes, toasted almonds, local goat cheese, roasted chicken, balsamic vinaigrette). So delicious! The second time I ordered the portobello, squash & wild rice bowl (organic wild rice, shredded kale, warm portobello mushrooms, butternut squash, caramelized onions, beets, basil, miso sesame ginger dressing). I really liked both salads, but I have to say the harvest bowl is my favorite, so every time we came back I had that same salad.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Adrian stuck to the kale caesar (shredded kale, chopped romaine, tomatoes, shaved parmesan, parmesan crisp, roasted chicken, fresh lime squeeze, caesar dressing) which I really liked (but my favorite one is still at The Butcher’s Daughter). I also tried the soups here, which were quite convenient due to the subzero temperatures when we were there. Soups were very soothing! Suggested salads were around 9.50-11.50US$ and are super generous!

info:

sweetgreen.com

Several locations in New York & other states.

mon-sun 10.30am-10pm

Candle 79

I wasn’t able to visit one of my favorite restaurants in NY this time, but I still remember the taste of they’re amazing burrito and black bean burger with polenta sticks. This vegan restaurant in the upper east side is delicious. They offer healthy, organic and vegan food with a tex-mex approach. The Burrito 79 is my absolute favorite with chili-herb grilled seitan, caramelized onions, sautéed greens, chipotle black beans, brown rice, “mozzarella”, guacamole, tofu sour cream and guajillo chipotle salsa (US$20). Really generous! Adrian’s favorite is the black bean-pumpkin seed burger with mesclun, grilled red onion, avocado, polenta fries and chipotle ketchup (US$15). I really like the polenta fries, you have to try them! Of course everything is house-made, especially the chipotle ketchup ;). I will definitively make the time to eat here next time :).

candle79.com

Juice Press

This is my favorite juice bar in one of my favorite cities. They have a large selection of cold-pressed juices that they make every morning, so you get to drink really fresh juices every day! My absolute favorite is Doctor Green Juice which has red apple, pineapple, kale, lemon & ginger (US$10.99). I also love to start my day with their Raw Oatmeal containing raw soaked oats, cashew milk, dates & spices. It is super creamy and sweet, just for me! Whenever my breakfast consists of these two obsessions I know I’ll have a great day ahead ;).

juicepress.com

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Hola, gracias por los tips, son muy útiles. Estoy por viajar a NY y pretendo alquilar un departamento, que barrio me recomendarías? Te parece una buena opción el Upper East Side o el Lower East Side?
    Saludos.

    • Hola mar! Perdon por tanta demora! Espero hayas tenido una gran estadia en NY! Para estar mas cerca de los restaurantes y la accion creo que es mejor el Lower East Side cerca de Bowery. Pero si prefieres mas tranquikidad entonces Upper East Side! Ambos son grandes opciones! Saludos!

Leave a Reply

